2011: A Look Back and a Thousand Thank You’s!

Wellp this business year started with a wedding on January 15, 2011….and 78 sessions, a trillion miles on my car, and a harddrive full of photos later, it ended on Thursday with a newborn session. As I was making the slideshow for this post, I couldn’t help but smile as I looked through the loads and loads of photos…yes, I’m sure I looked like a downright fool just sitting here smiling at my computer…ha! But. I was so overwhelmed by how much I have learned, changed, and grown as a photographer this year. And by how many beautiful memories I’ve been able to witness and document for all of these beautiful people! I absolutely want to thank each and every one of you for allowing me the opportunity to photograph you. Whether it was your wedding, your child’s birthday party, your anniversary, your family reunion, your first moment as an engaged couple, or your first few times holding your brand new baby, it was a privilege to photograph and a memory that I’m happy to hold on to for forever. Thank you.

And I must also take the time to thank my devastatingly handsome husband/second photographer/assistant Jordan, who’s had the privilege (or punishment..hehe) of watching everything happen from over my shoulder. At a photo shoot, or at my computer editing, this dedicated husband has been ever so patient and loving through this entire year. I’m absolutely positive that he has memorized the back of my head and the pitch in my voice as I stare at my screen and tell him, “Just five more photos and I’ll come eat dinner!!!”  He is my second set of eyes on location, and I must say…his creativity far exceeds mine 9 times out of 10. So, my dear Jordan, thank you for your patience, for inspiring me, for pushing me, for encouraging me, and for driving a 1993 Toyota Tercel with no heat or AC and over 300k miles…while I upgraded cameras and lenses. (BTW..the Tercelerator made his last journey a week or so ago…RIP Ol’ Blue). 🙂

So. 2012 is almost here. A few things this photographer is looking forward to: a new car for Jordy, a rejuvenated and motivated self, an expedited and way more organized workflow, a new website/brand, and a head full of goals and dreams.  To all who were in my life this year, thank you. And to all who have already booked for next year, thank you. I am overwhelmed at where this hobby has taken me and enthralled at where I see it going.

To view a recap of some of my favorites from this year, click HERE for a slideshow.

Merry Christmas to all of you, and thank  you from the bottom of my heart.

-MM-

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “2011: A Look Back and a Thousand Thank You’s!

  1. Such a beautiful slide show Micala! We’re so excited for 2012 too!
    much love, Emily & Jared

Leave a Reply

